Jun 22, 2012

New album coming soon: Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra

Every new Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra album is a big step forward. Their first release, Definitely Roots, released in 2009, marked the beginning of the adventure led by percussionist and producer Masta Conga, blending many styles - sometimes in the same track - from afrofunk, to latin or ethio grooves, jazz or reggae… The following year, Paris DJs extracted Kingston Abeba from this LP for their cult 21st Century Afro Extravaganza mix. In 2011 the band released Ayodegi, aptly subtitled A Modern Afro-Fusion Ensemble, an instrumental affair, rooted in 70s jazz-funk. It's now followed by this third album, Last Odyssey, to be released on Ubiquity Records mid-july 2012. This long player is the result of Masta Conga's alchemist' work, who first recorded his percussion parts, then added Jean Luc Riga's double bass and Max Hartock's drums, then later Elvis Martinez Smith's guitars and Benjamin Peyrot des Gachons's keys, and a couple of months afterwards the violins, horns, flute and vocals… Sounding like deep and groovy black jazz with a timeless universality, this album is heavily recommended to all jazz fans who'll peel it off year after year!


Press Release

Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra's new album Last Odyssey finds the French band in fine form, creating music with Jazz as it's foundation laced with strains of Ethio and Nigerian Funk combined with Latin Percussion and rhythms. By taking the "heaviest" elements from each genre and distilling it down to it's most potent form, the band's true identity is revealed and sets them apart from their influences.

Founded in 2007 with a rotating cast of members and ranging in size from a 20 piece band to 12 that contributed to this album, the core musicians consists of 6 members: Masta Conga (perc), Benjamin Peyrot Des Gachons (keyb), Elvis Martinez Smith (guitar), Philipe Vernier (sax), Jb Feyt (trumpet) and David Battestini Quadri (double bass). At it's heart is Masta Conga who's the designated ring leader and primarily responsible for the concept and production of this album. "ALVO is not a classic group which repeats, It is a space of creation all around of various revolving musicians according to projects." says Masta Conga.

Having released 2 well-received albums previously, Definitely Roots in 2009 and Ayodegi in 2011, which were both primarily live recordings, ALVO took a different approach to the creation of the new record with Masta Conga recording the rhythm base for the tracks then adding each element in the studio as each musician came in for their session, "This method consists of a new shape of writing music for me. Less spontaneous, more thought....We have a clear rythmic base but we do not know what we are going to create. The result is a surprise".


01. Petrof Sublimation
02. Onze De France
03. Hip Hop Definition
04. Gibbon's Dub
05. Requiem Pour Un Grooveur
06. Buffet Froid
07. Last Odyssey
08. Dimension 7
09. Harissa
10. Samourai
11. Spoken Wild
12. Sequences
13. Latin Break
14. Acai
15. Freestyle

No comments:

Post a Comment