Nov 9, 2012

New album: Ariya Astrobeat Arkestra - Towards Other Worlds

Press release

Ariya Astrobeat Arkestra are back with their second album ‘Towards Other Worlds’. The UK based 9 piece have built on the success of their debut album, described by BBC Radio 2’s Jamie Cullum as one of his ‘sounds and albums of 2010’. Afrobeat’s inimitable rhythm and language is evident and the band also owes part of their sound to the space jazz pioneers of the 70s and the free jazz trailblazers of the 60s.

The band emerged from the fertile Leeds music scene that has produced some of the most exciting music in the UK including Submotion Orchestra, Corinne Bailey Rae, kidkanevil, Andreya Triana and The New Mastersounds. Born out of late-night jam sessions at legendary jazz club Sela Bar, a group of musicians were naturally drawn together, guided by band-leader (and lead-writer) Pete Williams. Taking the rhythms of Fela and adding the improvisation of Sun-Ra and the funk of James Brown the band were soon forging their own sound.

Towards Other Worlds explores this diverse blueprint, taking in driving afro-funk, spiritual jazz, and Mulatu-esque Ethio-jazz. Built around a quote of the Sun-Ra film ‘Space Is The Place’ the album is split into two halves – the first represents Earth and it’s ‘sounds of guns, anger, frustration’ whilst the second is couched in the cosmos, where ‘the vibrations are different’, leading to a more progressive, peaceful sound.

  1.   Old ground 
  2.   Blood in the water 
  3.   March of the idiots 
  4.   Turncoat 
  5.   Ministers of aggression 
  6.   Towards other worlds 
  7.   Future ancestors
  8.   New frontiers

No comments:

Post a Comment