Oct 18, 2011

The Actions a.k.a. Aktion - Groove the funk (download)

Aktion (sometimes known amongst fans as "The Actions") was an Eastern band based in Warri. Lemmy Faith was the group's leader and other members included Renny Pearl, Essien Akpabio and respected drummer Ben Alaka (who, curiously, is credited as a "guest" on this album).

An earlier incarnation of the band--under the name Action 13--released two singles in 1973: "Active Action" and "More Bread To The People".

Like you mentioned, Aktion, Action and Aktion 13 as known in some cases was a Warri-based band that played gigs all around the Eastside. Originally, the band was initiated in Calabar by the duo of Essien Akpabio and Lemmy Faith.

The band was resident at then famous spot in Warri called Lido Night Club and Restaurant where they entertained civil servants and off duty officers during happy hours known as "Afternoon Jump." During the festivities (Christmas and New Year holidays), the group embarked on a road trip playing gigs at college campuses, community centers and local villages to entertain Eastside students who were home for the holidays.

And of course, Ben Alaka who was the best drummer of that era was an in-session man but played more for Aktion when they were resident at Lido for the "Afternoon Jump" jam sessions. The band's early years between 1976 and 1978 was a blast which catapulted the group to the top during the 70s hippie era.

However, the band's success was shortlived when music of the era crossed over and the inability of band leader Lemmy Faith to compete with bands from the West resulting to music fans relocating to the West in search for better lives, and in some cases, academic pursuits elsewhere.

Ben Alaka still lives in Warri while Essien Akpabio relocated to his home base of Calabar. Lemmy Faith, I think, and as of the last time I heard about him was still producing.

Information found on the amazing blog combandrazor.blogspot.com ... thanx!!


1. Groove the Funk
2. Sugar Daddy
3. I Don't Have to Cry
4. My Baby

1. I've Got To Hope For Tomorrow
2. Masquerade
3. I'm in Love
4. Tell Me Baby
5. Play With Me

The album was published as part of the world wide record day 2010 as part of the collection of record diggers publishing rare and obscure music at the forum of amazing record label soulstrut!!!


  1. http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Q1A0Z3FS

  2. The guy in the red suit is my father. He had no idea that this music is still being listened to never mind shared world wide. I just showed him and the smile on his face is amazing. Thank you guys

  3. Thank you! Any chance for a new link?

  4. Please check out the disclaimer, if you are still interested in a copy pls send me an email and I see what I can do ...