Jun 21, 2011

The Funk Ark - From The Rooftops

The Funk Ark is a world funk ensemble based in Washington DC. The group draws on influences from the African and Latin funk/dance music scenes of the 1960s and 70s and the result is a gritty and soulful mix of inspired afrobeat and big band funk.

The group's keyboardist and main songwriter, Will Rast is well known for his work with a veritable encyclopedia of artists both locally and internationally, such as Mya, Federico Aubele, Natalia Clavier, RAMP and Raheem Devaughn. He will be featured on the upcoming release from Thievery Corporation, as well as on several other projects with producer, Eric Hilton, including the upcoming release by Ocote Soul Sounds (with MartinPerna of Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra and Adrian Quesada of Grupo Fantasma) on the ESL label. He has performed at the Montreal Jazz Festival as well as the Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza and Treasure Island Festivals. The Funk Ark has just finished production on their own debut album on ESL Music.

The Funk Ark has played in venues ranging from small jazz clubs to large nightclubs and outdoor amphitheaters and festival stages.



ESL Music's newest signing, The Funk Ark is a world funk ensemble based in Washington DC. The band has a debut album recorded which will be released on ESL Music on June 14, 2011.

Recorded at ESL Music Studios in Washington DC by Thievery Corporation’s sound engineer Christopher “Stone” Garret, From the Rooftops is the funk-tastic debut album from ESL Music’s newest artist signing The Funk Ark! Fronted by keyboard savant and long-time ESL Music session player Will Rast, the album delivers a healthy dose of vintage afrobeat, Latin, and funk stylings. Recalling the best of Afrika 70, the JB’s and the Fania Allstars all at once, The Funk Ark is your new one-stop shop for booty-shaking vintage grooves. Shout it from the rooftops!



01. A Blade Won't Cut Another Blade
02. Diaspora
03. Funky DC
04. El Beasto
05. Carretera Libre
06. Horchata
07. Katipo (The Spider)
08. From The Rooftops
09. Pavement
10. Power Struggle

No comments:

Post a Comment